Copa America hosts Chile have qualified for the final of the competition after beating Peru 2-1 last night. However, it looks like controversial decisions are the reasons why Chile are really in the final.
The semi final was dominated by the Chileans but a lot of that is down to the early controversial red card shown to Carlos Zambrona.
In the 20th minute, Zambrona’s follow through of a clearance unexpectedly hit Aranguiz who started screaming in agony immediately and the referee showed Carlos straight Red.
Vargas opened the scoring in the 42nd minute when Alexis’ ball missed everyone, clipped the post and fell in path of Eduardo who made no mistake to give Chile the lead.
The lead was cancelled out in the second half thanks to an own goal from Gary Medel. However, minutes later Vargas’ 30 yard strike sealed final spot for the home side.
Here is the vine of that winner provided below.
Follow Soccerisma on Twitter: Soccerisma